Caribbean court of justice building

Port of Spain, Trinidad: The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) today ordered that St. Lucian, Professor Eddy Ventose, is to be added to the register of voters in Barbados. The Court declared that it was satisfied that the legal and regulatory conditions for his registration have been met. The Court then ordered the Chief Electoral Officer, who participated in the hearing, to ensure that Professor Ventose is registered before 12 noon on Monday, 14 May 2018.

If this is not done, the CCJ President, the Right Honourable Sir Dennis Byron, warned that she may face contempt of court proceedings, which could result in imprisonment and/or fines. Professor Ventose had stated that he was qualified and entitled to be registered to vote but his registration was consistently refused. The Court of Appeal in Barbados had, on Tuesday, 8 May 2018 ruled that Professor Ventose was qualified to be registered to vote but stopped short of compelling the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) to enroll him on the register of voters.

The CEO was given 24 hours to make a determination on his application. When the CEO failed to register him, Professor Ventose asked the CCJ to declare that he was entitled to be registered to vote and to order the CEO to enter his name on the final voters’ list ahead of its publication this week. The order of the Court was read by the CCJ President, Sir Dennis Byron, on Sunday afternoon,
after the panel of judges had withdrawn to deliberate on the matter. The CCJ President expressed the view that the Court’s decision should also resolve the matter for other Commonwealth citizens, resident in Barbados for the relevant qualifying period, who are
also claiming a right to be registered as voters under the Barbados laws.

Costs for the CCJ proceedings and the hearings in the courts below were awarded to Professor Ventose. The appeal was determined by the President of the CCJ and the Honourable Messrs. Justices Saunders, Hayton, Anderson and Barrow. Professor Eddy Ventose was represented by Mr. Elliot Mottley QC, Mr. Leslie F. Haynes QC, Ms. Faye F Finisterre, Ms. Kashkha Mottley and Mr. Nicholas Jackman, while the Chief Electoral Officer was represented by Ms. Jennifer Edwards QC, Solicitor General.

The Court will provide the full reasons for its decision on the CCJ’s website later this week.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.